Paul Doiron Announces Release of His 12th Mike Bowditch Novel, ‘Dead By Dawn’

Night sky in woods
(Photo courtesy Canva)

Award-winning novelist Paul Doiron announced today the publication date of his next book, Dead By Dawn. This will be the 12th installment in his popular Mike Bowditch series, which debuted 10 years ago with The Poacher’s Son. We’ve been big fans of the series ever since that first book transported us to the Maine woods, so we can’t wait for this next chapter!

Paul Doiron's DEAD BY DAWN
Minotaur

One of the things we love about this series is the amount of atmospheric detail Doiron adds to each book. Even if we had never been to Maine ourselves, Doiron’s books provide us with perfect armchair escape. By the time you close one of these books, you really feel like you’ve been stomping through our 23rd state.

We also love Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. He’s smart, determined, adventurous, shrewd, and has a penchant for getting into trouble, even when he doesn’t intentionally go looking for it. Some guys just have that knack! If you’re new to Doiron’s work, this series is great for readers who enjoy Lee Child’s Jack Reacher or C.J. Box’s Joe Picket books.

Dead By Dawn will ship on June 29, 2021. But pre-order it now so it shows up in your mailbox on publication day! Keep reading to find out the premise for the new book.

ABOUT DEAD BY DAWN

Alone, injured, and outgunned Mike Bowditch must solve two mysteries if he is to survive the night. Who is trying to kill him? And why?

December 21. The winter solstice. The shortest day of the year.

It starts innocently enough for Warden Investigator Mike Bowditch. A quick trip to the western Maine foothills to bring his wolf dog Shadow for a veterinary checkup, followed by a detour to discuss a closed case with a wealthy woman who won’t accept that her father-in-law’s death was an accidental drowning and not murder. To humor her Mike grudgingly agrees to reinterview a few of the witnesses.

It’s a bad decision 

By nightfall a snowstorm is raging and man and wolf are in a desperate fight for their lives. Even as Mike seeks to escape a freezing river and isolated woods, he finds himself battered by the elements and chased by a shadowy, relentless enemy. He searches back through the day, wondering what secret he unwittingly uncovered that is worth murdering him over? And can he survive long enough to bring a cold-blooded killer to justice?

Add to Goodreads badge
Paul Doiron
Paul Doiron

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

A native of Maine, bestselling author Paul Doiron attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English. 

The Poacher’s Son, the first book in the Mike Bowditch series, won the Barry award, the Strand award for best first novel, and has been nominated for the Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity awards in the same category.

He is a Registered Maine Guide specializing in fly fishing and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

For more information, visit PaulDoiron.com, like him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

DEAD BY DAWN
By Paul Doiron
320 pp. Minotaur. $27.99

Pre-order Dead By Dawn direct at Jathan & Heather Books or from one of these other fine online retailers: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, Half Price Books, Hudson Booksellers, IndieBound, Target, or Walmart.

About Jathan Fink
Jathan is a journalist, philanthropist, and entrepreneur. He is also a travel junkie, foodie and jazz aficionado. A California native, he resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: