Maisey Yates’s ‘Good Time Cowboy’ Lives Up to His Name [REVIEW]

Cowboy and his girl at sunset

Even after your heart’s been broken, new love can blossom in the most unlikely of places. (Photo by Bob Jagendorf, Flickr)

Her ex-husband is a self-absorbed, philandering fool, and most of his friends and colleagues are no better. Yet there’s that one guy who she always felt a spark of attraction toward, the one who would spell trouble for her if she just gave him the chance. Now that she has to work with him, however, will she be able to resist a romance with the one kind of man she always avoids: a bull rider? Find out in Maisey Yates’s latest cowboy rom-com, Good Time Cowboy. 

Maisey Yates' GOOD TIME COWBOY

HQN

Lindy Parker. She’s the owner of breathtaking Grassroots Winery, but that wasn’t always the case. The vineyard used to belong to her ex-husband and his family, but when he decided to play the field even though he had a gorgeous wife at home, she didn’t feel too much remorse about stealing it out from under him in the divorce settlement. Still, people talk, and some place the blame at her doorstep, even though a judge awarded her the property and she isn’t the one who cheated!

Be that as it may, being a successful business owner has its price, and in this instance it means that she has to forge a partnership with a man she’s always sought to avoid: Wyatt Dodge, her ex’s former friend, who also happens to be the  yummy owner of the Get Out of Dodge Ranch. Can you say awkward? Still, by working together, they hope to both be able to keep the businesses they have worked so hard on, and they are giving it a valiant effort to make the relationship work. Yet Wyatt’s easy grin and epic ego tend to be more distracting than Lindy ever thought possible.

Set in Gold Valley, Oregon, the kind of place we all love to get away to, Good Time Cowboy would be a charming story based on the location alone. It’s pretty, quaint, and packed full of hunky, hardworking cowboys and the ladies who love them. Thus it is the perfect setting for simmering romance to finally boil over! But there is so much more to this novel than just a picturesque setting.

Maisey Yates is also a delight to read. She constructs bigger-than-life characters who are as infuriating as they are irresistible, and we can’t help but grin good-naturedly every time we encounter them. None of them are perfect, even if they are perfectly charming and have loads of easy swagger that rolls off them in waves. These are the kind of cowboys that fantasies are built on, the kind that undoubtedly round out a tight pair of jeans just as well as they turn the heads of the ladies sitting on the rodeo railing.

Yates’s dialogue sizzles and pops, makes us laugh out loud, roll our eyes, and keep turning pages to see just how the unlikely duo of Lindy and Wyatt are going to find their way into one another’s arms. This is what we love most about a good romance after all, right? It’s the dance, the subtle evasions and the languid stares that build the tension and make us hope for the happy ever after all of us want, whether we are willing to admit it or not. Fans of Diana Palmer and Delores Fossen will love Good Time Cowboy, because in the end, this hunk of burning love definitely lives up to the name.

This edition also includes the bonus story, Hard Riding Cowboy. 

Maisey Yates

Maisey Yates

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Maisey Yates is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Untamed CowboyMail Order CowboyThe Rancher’s Baby, and other titles in her Copper Ridge and Gold Valley series.

In 2009, at the age of 23, Maisey sold her first book. Since then it has been a whirlwind of sexy alpha males and happily ever afters, and she wouldn’t have it any other way.

Maisey divides her writing time between dark, passionate category romances set just about everywhere on earth and light contemporary romances set practically in her back yard. She believes that she clearly has the best job in the world.

She currently resides in rural Oregon with her three children and her husband, whose chiseled jaw and arresting features continue to make her swoon. Maisey feels the epic trek she takes several times a day from her office to her coffee maker is a true example of her pioneer spirit.

Readers may visit her online at MaiseyYates.com, like her on Facebook, and follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

GOOD TIME COWBOY
By Maisey Yates
480 pgs. HQN. $7.99

TLC Book Tours Tour HostPurchase Good Time Cowboy at one of these fine online retailers: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, IndieBound, and Powell’s.

Good Time Cowboy is brought to you in association with TLC Book Tours.

About J.R. Wallace
J.R. Wallace is a freelance writer and blogger who enjoys cooking, reading, travel and fitness. He lives in Ohio with his family, two cats and a ferret named Igor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: